Ohai Named Senior Class Award Candidate

Ohai Named Senior Class Award Candidate

OVERLAND PARK, KS (August 21, 2013) - Thirty NCAA women's soccer student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected as candidates Wednesday for the 2013 Senior CLASS Award in collegiate soccer.  Amongst the 30 women's candidates is Kealia Ohai, senior forward for the University of North Carolina and a Draper, Utah native.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence - community, classroom, character and competition.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The Senior CLASS Award winners will be announced during the 2013 NCAA Men's and Women's College Cup® championships in December.

The 30-candidate class will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select the candidate who best exemplify excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition. 

For more information on all the candidates, visit seniorCLASSaward.com.

Besides Kealia Ohai, the other 29 candidates for the Senior CLASS Award are:  Brittany Anghel of Syracuse, Danielle Birdsall of Northern Colorado, Aubrey Bledsoe of Wake Forest, Allison Brees of Northern Iowa, Amber Davis of Western Illinois, Nikola Deiter of Central Connecticut State, Vanessa DiBernardo of Illinois, Alyssa Diggs of Missouri, Katy Dolesh of Miami of Ohio, Jonelle Filigno of Ruthers Mariana Garcia of The Citadel, Kristen Hamilton of Denver, Maya Hayes of Penn State, Holly Hein of Michigan, Becca Hemby of High Point, Elizabethe Hoerner of Navy, Kassey Kallman of Florida State, Ally Lee of Jacksonville, Juliana Libertin of Dayton, Kat Ludlow of Baylor, Chloe McDaniel of Cal State Northridge, Emily Oliver of Stanford, Frances Silva of West Virginia, Katie Stengel of Wake Forest, Anna Stinson of Illinois State, Chrissy Tchoula of Western Kentucky, Renee Washington of La Salle, Kylie Wassell of Nevada-Las Vegas and Laura Weinberg of Duke.

Related Links