Ohai Named Senior CLASS Award Finalist

Ohai Named Senior CLASS Award Finalist

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (October 16, 2013) - Twenty NCAA® men's and women's soccer student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected as finalists Wednesday for the 2013 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate soccer.

Among the finalists is University of North Carolina senior forward Kealia Ohai of Draper, Utah.  Ohai becomes the sixth UNC player in the seven-year history of the award to be named a finalist.  She joins Jessica Maxwell in 2007, Yael Averbuch in 2008, Kristi Eveland in 2009, Ali Hawkins in 2010 and Amber Brooks in 2011 in that august company.  Hawkins won the award in 2010.

UNC fans can vote for Ohai at the Senior CLASS Award website.  Fans can vote DAILY for their top three choices.  Fan voting makes up a large component of the determination of the winning candidate.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence - community, classroom, character and competition. A complete list of finalists follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities. 

The finalists were chosen by a media committee from the list of 30 men's candidates and 30 women's candidates announced in August. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner. Fans are encouraged to vote on the Senior CLASS Award website through November 25. Fan votes will be combined with media and Division I head coaches' votes to determine the winner. The Senior CLASS Award winners will be announced during the 2013 NCAA Men's and Women's College Cup® championships in December. For more information on all the candidates, visit seniorCLASSaward.com.

Men's Soccer Finalists

Bryan Ciesiulka, Marquette

Mackenzie Pridham, Cal Poly

Kevin Cope, Michigan State

Chris Ritter, Northwestern

A.J. Corrado, Indiana

Harrison Shipp, Notre Dame

Itode Fubara, East Tennessee State

Joe Sofia, UCLA

Nick Kristock, Oakland

Kyle Venter, New Mexico

Women's Soccer Finalists

Aubrey Bledsoe, Wake Forest

Holly Hein, Michigan

Vanessa DiBernardo, Illinois

Elizabeth Hoerner, Navy

Jonelle Filigno, Rutgers

Kassey Kallman, Florida State

Kristen Hamilton, Denver

Kealia Ohai, North Carolina

Maya Hayes, Penn State

Anna Stinston, Illinois State


An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Senior CLASS Award honors the attributes of senior student-athletes in four areas: community, classroom, character and competition. The award program is designed exclusively for college seniors who are utilizing their complete athletic eligibility, remaining committed to their university and pursuing the many rewards a senior season can bring. Premier Sports Management manages the award.
Related Links