Ebron Named A Mackey Award Finalist

Ebron Named A Mackey Award Finalist

New York, N.Y. (November 25, 2013) - The Friends of John Mackey has announced three
finalists for the 2013 John Mackey Award. Listed alphabetically, they are Eric Ebron (JR, North
Carolina), Nick O'Leary (JR, Florida State) and Austin Seferian-Jenkins (JR, Washington).

A native of Greensboro, N.C., Ebron leads the Tar Heels in receptions and receiving yards.  This is the second consecutive season that a Tar Heel has been a finalist for a major offensive award.  Last year, offensive guard Jonathan Cooper was a finalist for the Outland Trophy.

The three finalists were determined by confidential balloting of the John Mackey Award Selection
Committee. Given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end, the 2013 John Mackey
Award recipient will be announced on December 11, 2013 and presented live on December 12,
2013 at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show: 6:00 p.m. ET on ESPNU.
All future announcements can be found at www.johnmackeyaward.com and on our official twitter
account: @JohnMackeyAward.

NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey is considered to be the best to have played the tight end
position. A tight end by whom all others are measured, Mackey was a role model on and off the
field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to community and his
place in history as the first President of the NFLPA.

The John Mackey Award presented since 2000, lists twelve alumni to have played in the NFL:
two-time Super Bowl Champion Daniel Graham ('01), 2006 Super Bowl Champion Dallas Clark
('02) of the Baltimore Ravens, Kellen Winslow II ('03) of the New York Jets, two-time Super Bowl
Champion Heath Miller ('04) of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Marcedes Lewis ('05) of the Jacksonville
Jaguars, 2008 Super Bowl Champion Matt Spaeth ('06) of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Fred Davis
('07) of the Washington Redskins, Chase Coffman ('08) of the Atlanta Falcons, Aaron Hernandez
('09), D.J. Williams ('10), Dwayne Allen ('11) of the Indianapolis Colts and the 2012 John Mackey
Award recipient Tyler Eifert of the Cincinnati Bengals.

The John Mackey Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association
(NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards
boast 678 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit www.NCFAA.org to learn more about our

The Friends of John Mackey is responsible for the administration of the John Mackey Award and
the John Mackey Award Selection Committee. Please visit www.johnmackeyaward.com for all
John Mackey Award related information.

2013 John Mackey Award Finalists
(in alphabetical order)

Eric Ebron (JR, North Carolina)
Nick O'Leary (JR, Florida State)
Austin Seferian-Jenkins (JR, Washington)