UNC's Dunn Tapped As Hermann Trophy Semifinalist

UNC's Dunn Tapped As Hermann Trophy Semifinalist

KANSAS CITY, Kan. (Dec. 3, 2013) - Fifteen men and 15 women have been named semifinalists for the 2013 Missouri Athletic Club's (MAC) Hermann Trophy.

University of North Carolina senior midfielder Crystal Dunn of Rockville Centre, N.Y., is one of the 15 semifinalists for the women's award.  Dunn won last year's Hermann Trophy, the first Tar Heel to do so since Catherine Reddick in 2003.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the highest individual intercollegiate award presented annually during a January banquet at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis.

NCAA Division I coaches that are NSCAA College Services members may vote for their top choices Wednesday, Dec. 4 through Tuesday, Dec. 10 within myNSCAA on NSCAA.com. Soccer fans can also let their collective voice be heard by voting for their favorite player on the MAC's website hosted by LockerDome, starting Thursday, Dec. 5.

The top three vote-getters for each gender from the combined NSCAA coaches and weighted fan votes will be announced as finalists Thursday, Dec. 12, followed by the announcement of the winners at the banquet, Friday, Jan. 10, 2014.

"Each year, we look forward to seeing the wealth of talent college soccer presents and working with the Missouri Athletic Club to cap the season by bestowing this prestigious award," NSCAA CEO Joe Cummings said. "We also take pride in knowing that those that know this game the best, coaches and fans, have a hand in selecting these winners."

This year's semifinalist lists include the 2012 MAC Hermann winners, as Maryland forward Patrick Mullins (New Orleans) and North Carolina midfielder Crystal Dunn (Rockville Centre, N.Y.) move a step closer to potentially back-to-back trophy wins.

Additionally, three players named as 2012 semifinalists return to the 2013 list: Georgetown forward Steve Neumann (New Hope, Pa.), Penn State forward Maya Hayes (West Orange, N.J.), and Santa Clara midfielder Julie Johnston (Mesa, Ariz.).

"For more than a quarter century the Missouri Athletic Club has had the privilege of annually honoring the top players in college soccer," MAC director of communications Jim Wilson said. "We look forward to carrying on that tradition this year when we find out who joins the ranks of some of the legends of the game like Mia Hamm, Kristine Lilly, Claudia Reyna and Alexi Lalas, who all claimed the crystal soccer ball trophy as collegiate players."

For more information about the history of the MAC Hermann Trophy and a list of past winners, visit the MAC Hermann Trophy page at NSCAA.com.

For news and highlight reels from previous MAC Hermann presentations, visit www.mac-hermann-trophy.org.


Crystal Dunn, North Carolina

Senior Midfielder

Rockville Centre, N.Y.

2012 Hermann Trophy winner…2013 ACC Offensive Player of the Year…was also named the ACC Defensive Player of the Year in 2010 and 2012…first player in ACC history to win both awards during her career…first player to win ACC player of the year honors three times since Mia Hamm in 1993…2012 consensus first-team All-America selection and consensus national player of the year…starting defender on U.S. National Team…2012 U20 World Champion starting defender…named first-team All-ACC all four years of her UNC career…despite late season injuries and national team duties she led Carolina in scoring as a senior with 14 goals and six assists for 34 points…also led the Tar Heels in 2013 with six game-winning goals.
Related Links