Four Tar Heels Earn ACC Honor

Four Tar Heels Earn ACC Honor

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Four University of North Carolina senior student-athletes have been selected as recipients of ACC Weaver-James-Corrigan Awards, as announced Thursday by the Atlantic Coast Conference. Rebecca Brooks (women's swimming and diving), Scott Goodwin (men's soccer) and Pete Mangum (football) are among 36 student-athletes - three from each conference school - selected to receive postgraduate scholarships. Jonathan Cooper (football) is one of five from the conference to receive honorary awards, given to student-athletes who plan to pursue professional athletic careers after graduation. 

Brooks, a business administration major from Rochester Hills, Mich., had already been a championship or consolation finalist in nine individual events heading into the final season of her UNC swimming career. A member of the 2012 All-ACC Academic Team, she also has earned Dean's List honors. 

Cooper, a communication studies major from Wilmington, N.C. leaves UNC as one of the most decorated offensive linemen in school history. He won the 2012 ACC Jacobs Blocking Trophy, became Carolina's first Outland Trophy finalist, and will have his jersey honored in Kenan Stadium. 

Goodwin, a biology major from Raleigh, played goalkeeper for the Tar Heels and helped the men's soccer team to the 2011 NCAA Championship. A two-time All-America honoree, he has earned Dean's List in ever semester at UNC and is a Phi Beta Kappa inductee.

Mangum, an applied sciences major and physics minor from Raleigh, came to UNC as a walk-on but earned a scholarship for his final two seasons. A defensive back, he served as special teams captain in 2012 and was named Special Teams MVP in 2010. He is a three-time Academic All-District honoree.

In addition to outstanding athletic and academic performances, all have been active in community outreach while at UNC.

The Weaver-James-Corrigan and Jim and Pat Thacker scholarships are awarded to selected student-athletes who intend to pursue a graduate degree following completion of their undergraduate requirements. Each recipient will receive $5,000 toward his or her graduate education. Those honored have performed with distinction in both the classroom and their respective sport, while demonstrating exemplary conduct in the community.

In addition to those receiving scholarship funds, five student-athletes will receive the Weaver-James-Corrigan Honorary Award. NC State's Michael Glennon (football), Duke's Ryan Kelly (men's basketball), Virginia's Lauren Perdue (women's swimming) and Wake Forest's Evan Beck (men's golf) will be recognized along with Cooper for their outstanding academic and athletic performances.

The 41 student-athletes will be honored at the annual ACC Postgraduate Luncheon presented by ESPN on April 17, 2013, in the Guilford Ballroom at the Sheraton Greensboro at the Four Seasons. For a full list of those earning scholarships and awards, go to

The Weaver-James-Corrigan Award is named in honor of the late Jim Weaver and Bob James, as well as Gene Corrigan, the first three ACC commissioners. The league's first commissioner, James H. Weaver, served the conference from 1954-70 after a stint as the Director of Athletics at Wake Forest University. His early leadership and uncompromising integrity are largely responsible for the excellent reputation enjoyed by the ACC today.

Robert C. James, a former University of Maryland football player, was named commissioner in 1971 and served in that capacity for 16 years. During his tenure, the league continued to grow in stature and became recognized as a national leader in athletics and academics, winning 23 national championships and maintaining standards of excellence in the classroom.

Eugene F. Corrigan assumed his role as the third full-time commissioner on September 1, 1987, and served until August of 1997. During Corrigan's tenure, ACC schools captured 30 NCAA championships and two national football titles.

Prior to 1994, the Weaver-James postgraduate scholarships were given as separate honors. The Jim Weaver Award, which originated in 1970, recognized exceptional achievement on the playing field and in the classroom, while the Bob James Award, established in 1987, also honored outstanding student-athletes.

The Thacker Award, which originated in 2005, is given in honor of the late Jim and Pat Thacker of Charlotte, N.C. Jim Thacker was the primary play-by-play announcer for the ACC's first television network. Recipients of the award must demonstrate outstanding performance both in athletic competition and in the classroom and intend to further their education through postgraduate studies at an ACC institution.