Three Heels Named Howser Semifinalists

Three Heels Named Howser Semifinalists

DALLAS -- The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) announced the 40 semifinalists for the Dick Howser Trophy Thursday and three Tar Heels were named among the group.

Juniors Kent Emanuel and Colin Moran were joined on the list by senior Cody Stubbs for the Tar Heels.

North Carolina is one of three schools with three representatives on the semifinal list along with Vanderbilt and LSU.

Emanuel owns a 9-3 record with a 2.28 ERA on the year and has pitched an ACC-high 102.2 innings of action.

Moran currently leads the nation in RBIs with 79 on the year while hitting .375 with a .506 on base percentage for the second-ranked Tar Heels.

Stubbs has just as dangerous with Moran as he entered the week ranked fourth in the country in RBIs with 65 and has tallied 21 doubles in 2013.

The Dick Howser Trophy is annually given to the top player in college baseball and is based on two rounds of national voting. The finalists will be announced Thursday, June 6 and the winner will be announced Saturday, June 15 at 10 a.m. CT, the opening day of the 2013 College World Series.

2013 Dick Howser Trophy Semifinalists
Pos. Name, School

Mark Appel, SP, Stanford
Aaron Attaway, SS, Western Carolina
Nick Backlund, DH, Mercer
Michael Bass, 2B, UNC Wilmington
Tyler Beede, SP, Vanderbilt
Aaron Berg, RP, UCLA
Alex Bregman, SS, LSU
Kris Bryant, 3B, San Diego
Danny Collins, OF, Troy
L.B. Dantzler, 1B, South Carolina
Brandon Dixon, 3B, Arizona
Hunter Dozier, SS, Stephen F. Austin
Kent Emanuel, SP, North Carolina
Zane Evans, C, Georgia Tech
Brent Graham, SS, Campbell
Jonathan Gray, SP, Oklahoma
C.K. Irby, Utility, Samford
Mason Katz, 1B, LSU
Ryan Kellogg, SP, Arizona State
Tony Kemp, 2B, Vanderbilt
Michael Lorenzen, Utility, Cal State Fullerton
L.J. Mazzilli, 2B, Connecticut
Kyle McGowin, SP, Savannah State
Brian Miller, RP, Vanderbilt
Colin Moran, 3B, North Carolina
Aaron Nola, SP, LSU
Matt Oberste, DH, Oklahoma
Daniel Palka, OF, Georgia Tech
Justin Parr, OF, Illinois
D.J. Peterson, 1B, New Mexico
Hunter Renfro, OF, Mississippi State
Tanner Rust, C, New Mexico State
Jimmie Scherfy, RP, Oregon
Kyle Schwarber, C, Indiana
Cody Stubbs, 1B, North Carolina
Stewart Turner, C, Ole Miss
Trea Turner, SS, NC State
Tyler Webb, RP, South Carolina
Jimmy Yezzo, 1B, Delaware
Ty Young, 3B, Louisville