Emanuel And Moran Take ACC Top Honors

Emanuel And Moran Take ACC Top Honors

GREENSBORO, N.C. -- North Carolina juniors Kent Emanuel and Colin Moran claimed the Atlantic Coast Conference top honors on Monday, as voted on by the league coaches.

The dual honors marks the first time that a school has garnered both the ACC Player and ACC Pitcher of the Year award since Florida State in 2007.

Moran has paced the Tar Heels at the plate all year long and currently leads the country in RBIs with 83. The Rye, N.Y., native is currently tied for the UNC single season record in RBIs and leads the Tar Heels with a .376 average in 55 games.

Moran becomes the seventh Tar Heel to be named the ACC Player of the Year and the first since 2009.

UNC's ACC Players of the Year
2013 - Colin Moran
2009 - Dustin Ackley
1998 - Brian Roberts
1980 - Scott Bradley
1979 - Jim Atkinson
1978 - Greg Norris
1970 - Eddie Hill

Emanuel matched a single-season career high with nine wins during the regular season along with a 2.28 ERA. The Woodstock, Ga., native has been a workhorse for the Tar Heels throwing a league-high 102.2 innings in his 14 appearances and 13 starts.

The ACC Pitcher of the Year award was introduced for the 2005 season and Emanuel becomes the third Tar Heel to earn the honor and first since 2008.

UNC's ACC Pitchers of the Year
2013 - Kent Emanuel

2008 - Alex White
2006 - Andrew Miller

Joining Emanuel and Moran on the All-ACC First Team is senior first baseman Cody Stubbs who has capped off his career in impressive fashion. Stubbs ranks among the top 10 in the country in RBIs with 66 on the season and has tallied the 10th-most doubles by a Tar Heel in a single season with 21.

The three First Team All-ACC selections marks the first time Carolina has placed three on the top team since 2009 when Dustin Ackley, Kyle Seager and Alex White earned the honor.

A pair of freshmen also were named All-ACC on Monday as outfielder Skye Bolt and relief pitcher Trent Thornton were named to the second team.

Despite missing 17 games due to a broken foot, Bolt owns a .359 average with 10 doubles, six home runs and 44 RBIs. Bolt becomes the first Tar Heel freshman to be named All-ACC since Colin Moran earned first team honors in 2011.

Trent Thornton opened the year as a midweek starter for the Tar Heels before forcing his way into the back of the bullpen. Thornton owns the lowest ERA in the ACC with a 1.48 mark in 60.2 innings of action. The Charlotte, N.C., native is 8-1 on the year with six saves in 21 appearances.

2013 All-ACC Baseball Team
Name Cl. Position School

Zane Evans Jr. Catcher Georgia Tech
Cody Stubbs Sr. First Base North Carolina
Reed Gragnani Sr. Second Base Virginia
Colin Moran Jr. Third Base North Carolina **
Chad Pinder Jr. Third Base Virginia Tech
Trea Turner So. Shortstop NC State**
Mike Papi So. Outfield Virginia
Daniel Palka Jr. Outfield Georgia Tech**
Tyler Horan Jr. Outfield Virginia Tech
Nick Howard So. DH/Utility Virginia
Scott Sitz Sr. Starting Pitcher Florida State
Buck Farmer Sr. Starting Pitcher Georgia Tech ***
Bryan Radziewski Jr. Starting Pitcher Miami
Kent Emanuel Jr. Starting Pitcher North Carolina**
Carlos Rodon So. Starting Pitcher NC State**
Kyle Crockett Jr. Relief Pitcher Virginia

Name Cl. Position School
Stephen McGee Jr. Catcher Florida State
Tarran Senay Sr. First Base NC State
Steve Wilkerson Jr. Second Base Clemson**
Andy Perez So. Second Base Duke
Jordan Betts Jr. Third Base Duke
Branden Cogswell So. Shortstop Virginia
DJ Stewart Fr. Outfield Florida State
Kyle Wren Jr. Outfield Georgia Tech**
Charlie White So. Outfield Maryland
Skye Bolt Fr. Outfield North Carolina
Joe McCarthy Fr. Outfield Virginia
Shane Kennedy Jr. DH/Utility Clemson
Daniel Gossett So. Starting Pitcher Clemson
Luke Weaver So. Starting Pitcher Florida State
Jimmy Reed Sr. Starting Pitcher Maryland
Trent Thornton Fr. Relief Pitcher North Carolina

Player of the Year: Colin Moran, North Carolina
Pitcher of the Year: Kent Emanuel, North Carolina

Freshman of the Year: Joe McCarthy, Virginia
Coach of the Year: Brian O'Connor, Virginia

** - Two-time first- or second-team selection
*** - Three-time first or second-team selection