Bodine Named To Rimington List

Bodine Named To Rimington List
GREENSBORO, N.C. --- Five Atlantic Coast Conference players, including North Carolina's Russell Bodine, were named Tuesday to the spring watch list for the Rimington Trophy, which is given annually to the nation's top center.

Joining Bodine from the ACC are Georgia Tech senior Jay Finch, Syracuse senior Macky MacPherson, Florida State senior Bryan Stork and Miami junior Shane McDermott (Lake Worth, Fla.).

Bodine helped lead a UNC offense which set school records in total points (487) and points per game (40.8) in 2012, as the Tar Heels finished eighth nationally in scoring offense. The Scottsville, Va., junior had a standout season in his first year as a full-time starter.

The ACC was one of three conferences with five nominees, including the Pac-12 Conference and the Mountain West Conference. Only the Southeastern Conference (9) had more selected to the 2013 Spring Watch List.

The Rimington Award uses four All-America teams to select its winner: The American Football Coaches Association (AFCA), the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA), the Walter Camp Foundation and The Sporting News. The winner will be honored at the Rimington Trophy Presentation banquet at the Rococo Theater in Lincoln, Nebraska on January 11, 2014.

About the Rimington Trophy
The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the Most Outstanding Center in NCAA Division I-A College Football. Since its inception, the Rimington Trophy has raised over $2 million for the cystic fibrosis community. The fourteen-year old award is overseen by the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis and has raised nearly $100 million for CF Research.

Dave Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman.